American Turf Magazine
View Cart
0 item, $0.00

Jan 26, 2007

Invasor and Bernardini highlight 2006 Eclipse Award winners


Beverly Hills, CA (Sports Network) - The 36th annual Eclipse Awards proved to be the most anticipated edition. The drama that has surrounded Kentucky Derby winner Barbaro gave the awards added attention.

Held in Beverly Hills and hosted by actor Jerry O'Connell, the Eclipse Awards honor the best in thoroughbred racing. The most anticipated category was outstanding three-year-old male.

Sentiment was with Barbaro while pragmatism was on the side of Preakness and Travers Stakes winner Bernardini.

Bernardini was voted as champion three-year-old of 2006. He received the honor over the undefeated Discreet Cat as well as injured Barbaro.

Darley Stables, owner of Bernardini, was voted as co-owner of the year with Barbaro's owners Roy and Gretchen Jackson.

Another member of "Team Barbaro" to receive an Eclipse Award was jockey Edgar Prado. He was voted outstanding jockey for the first time in his career.

Breeders' Cup Classic winner Invasor was named Horse of the Year and champion older male horse. The other two finalists for Horse of the Year were Barbaro and Bernardini.

Delaware Handicap winner Fleet Indian was voted champion older female.

The champion two-year-olds for 2006 both won their respective Breeders' Cup races. Juvenile winner Street Sense and Juvenile Fillies champ Dreaming of Anna were both honored for their accomplishments from last year.

Breeders' Cup Filly and Mare Turf winner Ouija Board is the champion female turf horse. Ouija Board was also voted this honor for 2004.

Wait a While was honored as champion three-year-old filly of 2006. The filly won stakes races on both the dirt and grass.

Breeders' Cup Sprint champ Thor's Echo was honored as outstanding sprinter of 2006.

Breeders' Cup Mile winner Miesque's Approval claimed the Eclipse Award as champion male turf horse.

McDynamo became a three-time Eclipse Award winner champion steeplechaser of 2006.

The winner as breeder of the year is Adena Springs' Frank Stronach. This is the third straight Eclipse Award and fourth overall for Adena Springs.

Todd Pletcher garnered his third straight Eclipse Award as outstanding thoroughbred trainer. Pletcher set a single season record with more than $27 million is earnings.

French native Julien Leparoux received the Eclipse Award as champion apprentice jockey of 2006.

The Eclipse Awards are presented by the National Thoroughbred Racing Association, National Turf Writers Association and the Daily Racing Form.

<< Back To Newsletter

Redeeming a gift certificate or promotional certificate? We'll ask for your claim code when it's time to pay.