American Turf Magazine
View Cart
0 item, $0.00

Jan 15, 2010

Finalists for 2009 Eclipse Awards revealed


New York, NY (Sports Network) - Rachel Alexandra and Zenyatta have been voted as the only two finalists for 2009 Horse of the Year, as revealed Wednesday by the National Thoroughbred Racing Association (NTRA), National Turf Writers Association (NTWA) and Daily Racing Form (DRF), the three presenting organizations of the Eclipse Awards.

The 39th Eclipse Awards ceremony will be held Monday, January 18 at the Beverly Wilshire Hotel.

Rachel Alexandra, the winner of the Preakness, Haskell and Woodward Stakes, is also a finalist for champion three-year-old filly of 2009. She is joined by Alabama winner Careless Jewel and Test Stakes champ Flashing.

Breeders' Cup Classic winner Zenyatta is the favorite to repeat as the Eclipse Award winner for older female thoroughbred. The mare is joined as a finalist by Breeders' Cup Ladies' Classic champ Life is Sweet and Ballerina Stakes winner Music Note.

The Eclipse Awards finalists (in alphabetical order) are:

Horse of the Year: Rachel Alexandra, Zenyatta

Two-Year-Old Male: Lookin At Lucky, Noble's Promise, Vale of York (IRE)

Two-Year-Old Filly: Blind Luck, Hot Dixie Chick, She Be Wild

Three-Year-Old Male: Mine That Bird, Quality Road, Summer Bird

Three-Year-Old Filly: Careless Jewel, Flashing, Rachel Alexandra

Older Male: Einstein (BRZ), Gio Ponti, Kodiak Kowboy

Older Female: Life Is Sweet, Music Note, Zenyatta

Male Sprinter: Dancing in Silks, Kodiak Kowboy, Zensational

Female Sprinter: Informed Decision, Music Note, Ventura

Male Turf Horse: Conduit (IRE), Gio Ponti, Presious Passion

Female Turf Horse: Goldikova (IRE), Midday (GB), Ventura

Steeplechase Horse: Mixed Up, Red Letter Day, Spy in the Sky

Owner: Godolphin Racing, Juddmonte Farms, Jerry and Ann Moss

Breeder: Adena Springs, Juddmonte Farms, Dolphus C. Morrison

Trainer: Steve Asmussen, Bob Baffert, John Shirreffs

Jockey: Ramon Dominguez, Garrett Gomez, Julien Leparoux

Apprentice Jockey: Luis Batista, Christian Santiago Reyes, Luis Saez

The Eclipse Awards are presented by the NTRA, the National Turf Writers Association and Daily Racing Form in recognition of excellence in Thoroughbred racing.

Eclipse Awards are bestowed upon horses and individuals whose outstanding achievements have earned them the title of Champion in their respective categories. Awards also are given to recognize members of the media for outstanding coverage of thoroughbred racing.

<< Back To Newsletter

Redeeming a gift certificate or promotional certificate? We'll ask for your claim code when it's time to pay.