American Turf Magazine
View Cart
0 item, $0.00

Jan 14, 2011

Breeders' Cup Classic 2010 Moment of the Year


New York, NY (Sports Network) - For the second straight year the running of the Breeders' Cup Classic has been voted the National Thoroughbred Racing Association (NTRA) Moment of the Year. Voting was conducted on the NTRA web site.

From the 12 nominations, Blame's head victory over Zenyatta drew 36 percent of the vote with Zenyatta's Vanity Handicap win second at 33 percent. The third most recognized moment, at 19 percent, was Goldikova winning her third straight Breeders' Cup Mile.

"The NTRA Moment of the Year award is a great way for the fans to play an active role in the Eclipse Awards ceremony," said NTRA senior vice president Keith Chamblin. "The memory of Blame's resolute win over a hard-charging Zenyatta will undoubtedly last a lifetime, and we are delighted to salute last November's Breeders' Cup Classic as the latest NTRA Moment of the Year."

This is the third straight year that Zenyatta was involved in the Moment of the Year. Last year it was her 'come from behind' victory in the Breeders' Cup Classic that got the nod and for 2008, the champion's Breeders' Cup Ladies' Classic triumph was the top vote getter.

Blame's racing team will be honored at the Eclipse Award ceremony Monday, January 17 with the "NTRA Moment of the Year" award.

<< Back To Newsletter

Redeeming a gift certificate or promotional certificate? We'll ask for your claim code when it's time to pay.