American Turf Magazine
View Cart
0 item, $0.00

Jan 21, 2011

Zenyatta voted 2010 Horse of the Year


Miami Beach, FL (Sports Network) - Champion mare Zenyatta has been voted the 2010 Horse of the Year by the National Thoroughbred Racing Association (NTRA), National Turf Writers And Broadcasters (NTWAB) and Daily Racing Form. The mare achieved the honor over Breeders' Cup Classic winner Blame and three-time Breeders' Cup Mile champ Goldikova.

Owned by Jerry and Ann Moss, Zenyatta earned the top honor after finishing second the last two years. Trained by John Shirreffs and ridden by Mike Smith, the now retired mare was also named champion older female for the third straight time.

Zenyatta won her first 19 career starts, including the initial five in 2010. She was the favorite to repeat as winner in the 2010 Breeders' Cup Classic, but fell just a head short, losing to champion older male Blame.

In 2010 the mare won five of six starts for $1,830,000.

"Well, I mean, look, she got beat by Blame," Jerry Moss said earlier. "It's the one horse that's ever beat her on the racetrack. It was a narrow loss but she got beat fair and square, you know. She tried hard. She did everything she could. And she lost, but still she's won five Grade 1s. She came into the race very well prepared. I think she's had a great campaign. And I think it's been great for racing and she carried a streak of 19 races in a row - 19 wins in a row, 13 Grade 1s into that Breeders' Cup Race."

Zenyatta received 128 votes followed by Blame with 102 and Goldikva with five.

The 2010 Eclipse Awards winners are:

Horse of the Year: Zenyatta

Two-Year-Old Male: Uncle Mo

Two-Year-Old Filly: Awesome Feather

Three-Year-Old Male: Lookin At Lucky

Three-Year-Old Filly: Blind Luck

Older Male: Blame

Older Female: Zenyatta

Male Sprinter: Big Drama

Female Sprinter: Dubai Majesty

Male Turf Horse: Gio Ponti

Female Turf Horse: Goldikova (IRE)

Steeplechase Horse: Slip Away

Owner: WinStar Farm

Breeder: Adena Springs

Trainer: Todd Pletcher

Jockey: Ramon Dominguez

Apprentice Jockey: Omar Moreno

The 40th Eclipse Awards ceremony was held Monday at the at the Fontainebleau Miami Beach,

The Eclipse Awards are presented by the NTRA, NTWAB and Daily Racing Form in recognition of excellence in thoroughbred racing.

Eclipse Awards are bestowed upon horses and individuals whose outstanding achievements have earned them the title of 'Champion' in their respective categories. Awards also are given to recognize members of the media for outstanding coverage of thoroughbred racing.

<< Back To Newsletter

Redeeming a gift certificate or promotional certificate? We'll ask for your claim code when it's time to pay.