American Turf Magazine
View Cart
0 item, $0.00

Jan 18, 2013

Paynter recovery selected as 2012 Moment of the Year


New York, NY (Sports Network) - The 14th annual "NTRA Moment of the Year" is Haskell winner Paynter overcoming deadly battles with laminitis and colitis and beginning rehab for a possible 2013 campaign.

"The NTRA Moment of the Year award is one of an increasing number of ways for fans to engage in the Eclipse Awards festivities," said Keith Chamblin, NTRA senior vice president. "Paynter's gallant struggle with laminitis and colitis inspired fans all across North America, and we are delighted to salute his triumph over those challenges as the latest NTRA Moment of the Year."

A dozen important events during 2012 in thoroughbred racing were voted on at the National Thoroughbred Racing Association (NTRA) website,

The second-place moment was I'll Have Another running down Bodemeister to win the Preakness by a neck.

Here are the 12 nominated moments for 2012 with percentage of votes they received in parentheses:

Rosie Napravnik becomes the first female jockey to win the Kentucky Oaks, guiding Believe You Can to victory (5)

I'll Have Another and jockey Mario Gutierrez pull the upset from post 19 in the Kentucky Derby (10)

I'll Have Another runs down Bodemeister to win the Preakness by a neck (13)

On the eve of a highly anticipated Triple Crown bid, I'll Have Another is scratched from the Belmont Stakes (7)

For the first time since 1874, the Travers ends in a dead heat as Alpha and Golden Ticket hit the wire together (7)

Haskell winner Paynter overcomes deadly battles with laminitis and colitis and begins rehab for a possible 2013 campaign (27)

For the second straight year, Royal Delta wins the Breeders' Cup Ladies' Classic for trainer Bill Mott and jockey Mike Smith, who registers his record 16th Breeders' Cup riding win (4)

Groupie Doll trounces her opponents in the Breeders' Cup Filly & Mare Sprint (1)

Shanghai Bobby digs in under Rosie Napravnik to win the Breeders' Cup Juvenile and remain undefeated (4)

Wise Dan breaks the course record in capturing the Breeders' Cup Mile over an international field (5)

Fort Larned holds off Mucho Macho Man to take the Breeders' Cup Classic (6)

Shackleford ends his career on a winning note in the Clark Handicap (11)

The previous three winning 'Moments' were each year's Breeders' Cup Classic.

<< Back To Newsletter

Redeeming a gift certificate or promotional certificate? We'll ask for your claim code when it's time to pay.