American Turf Magazine
View Cart
0 item, $0.00

Mar 01, 2013

Borel and Gomez among finalists for Racing Hall of Fame


Saratoga Springs, NY (Sports Network) - Jockeys Calvin Borel and Garrett Gomez are among the 10 finalists vying to be inducted as part of the 2013 Racing Hall of Fame class.

Joining Borel and Gomez on the ballot are jockeys Chris Antley, Craig Perret, and Alex Solis; thoroughbreds Ashado, Housebuster, Invasor, and Lure; and trainer Gary Jones.

The four candidates with the greatest number of votes will be elected. The results of the voting will be revealed on Friday, April 26.

Borel, a native of Louisiana, is a three-time winner of the Kentucky Derby, getting to the winner's circle at Churchill Downs with Street Sense (2007), Mine That Bird (2009) and Super Saver (2010).

Gomez is a 13-time winner of Breeders' Cup races as well as wins in the Pacific Classic, Travers, Santa Anita Derby, Whitney Handicap, Stephen Foster, Kentucky Oaks and Jockey Club Gold Cup.

Antley is best remembered as the rider of 1999 Kentucky Derby and Preakness Stakes winner Charismatic. Antley earned more than $92 million from 1983 to 2000 with 3,480 victories.

Perret notched victories in the 1990 Kentucky Derby with Unbridled and 1987 Belmont Stakes aboard Bet Twice. He also captured four Breeders' Cup races. When he retired in 2005, Perret won 4,415 races and earnings of $113,837,299.

Solis has earned more than $230 million with better than 4,900 wins in a career that began over 30 years ago. He rode Pleasantly Perfect to victory in the Breeders' Cup Classic in 2003 and won the 1986 Preakness with Snow Chief.

Housebuster was a two-time Eclipse Award winner as champion Sprinter in 1990-91. Owned by Bob Levy, Housebuster won 15 of 22 career starts for $1,229,696.

For the 2006 racing year, Invasor was named Horse of the Year and champion Older Male. Highlighted by a win in the 2007 Dubai World Cup, Invasor earned more than $7.8 million with 11 wins in 12 lifetime starts.

Bred and owned by Claiborne Farm, Lure won the Breeders' Cup Mile in 1992 and 1993. He finished his career with 14 wins in 25 starts for better than $2.5 million.

Ashado was voted 2005 champion Older Female after winning the Eclipse Award as 2004 champion 3-Year-Old Filly. She won 12 of 21 career starts for more than $3.9 million.

Jones trained from 1975 to 1996 and won 1,465 races for more than $52.6 million. He trained Turkoman, who won the 1986 Eclipse Award as champion Older Male.

The Historic Review Committee of the Museum will consider candidates not active within the past 25 years.

The Racing Hall of Fame induction ceremony will be held in Saratoga Springs on Friday, Aug. 9 at 10:30 a.m. (ET).

<< Back To Newsletter

Redeeming a gift certificate or promotional certificate? We'll ask for your claim code when it's time to pay.