American Turf Magazine
View Cart
0 item, $0.00

Jun 07, 2013

Inaugural Pillars of the Turf Hall of Fame inductees announced


Saratoga Springs, NY (Sports Network) - The National Thoroughbred Racing Hall of Fame announced Wednesday the inaugural inductees for the new Pillars of the Turf category.

August Belmont II and Paul Mellon are being recognized as the first Pillars of the Turf. The new classification is an effort to bring to light the people who have played important parts to the sport of thoroughbred racing.

Belmont II and Mellon join previously announced inductees jockey Calvin Borel and thoroughbreds Housebuster, Invasor, Lure, McDynamo, and Tuscalee. The induction ceremony will take place in Saratoga Springs on Friday, Aug. 9.

August Belmont II founded Belmont Park in 1905 at which time the Belmont Stakes, named for his father, was moved there. He served as chairman of both The Jockey Club and the New York Racing Commission and was among the founding members of The Jockey Club in 1894 and served as its chairman from 1895 until his death in 1924. He was also a founding member of the National Steeplechase Association in 1895.

Paul Mellon founded Rokeby Stables in 1948. He twice won the Eclipse Award for Outstanding Breeder in 1971 and 1986.

Mellon campaigned future Hall of Fame thoroughbreds Arts and Letters and Fort Marcy along with 1993 Kentucky Derby and Travers winner Sea Hero and 1964 Belmont Stakes winner Quadrangle.

<< Back To Newsletter

Redeeming a gift certificate or promotional certificate? We'll ask for your claim code when it's time to pay.