American Turf Magazine
View Cart
0 item, $0.00

Jun 06, 2014

This week in Belmont Stakes History

By: From The Sports Network


( -

May 29, 1897: Scottish Chieftain, owned by Marcus Daly, became the only Montana-bred to win the Belmont Stakes.

June 5, 1943: Count Fleet ended his racing career by winning the Belmont Stakes by 25-lengths. He was the sixth American Triple Crown winner.

June 5, 1993: Julie Krone became the first female rider to win a Triple Crown race when she won the Belmont Stakes with Colonial Affair.

June 5, 2010: Longshot Drosselmeyer, ridden by Mike Smith, drove down the middle of the track to win the 142nd running of the $1 million Belmont Stakes. The victory is the first in the race for both the jockey and trainer Bill Mott. Drosselmeyer is owned by WinStar Farm which also owns Kentucky Derby champ Super Saver. Neither Super Saver nor Preakness champ Lookin At Lucky ran in the race, the first time since 2006 that the Belmont was without both winners of the first two legs of the Triple Crown.

June 6, 1987: Bet Twice became the first horse to receive a Triple Crown bonus after winning the Belmont Stakes over rival Alysheba. He earned $1 million in addition to the first-place money.

June 7, 1941: Whirlaway won the 73rd running of the Belmont Stakes and became the fifth horse to win the Triple Crown.

June 7, 1980: Genuine Risk became the first filly to compete in all three Triple Crown races. She won the Kentucky Derby and finished second in both the Preakness and Belmont Stakes.

June 7, 1986: Trainer Woody Stephens saddled Danzig Connection to win his fifth consecutive Belmont Stakes. Stephens won the previous races with Conquistador Cielo (1982), Caveat (1983), Swale (1984) and Creme Fraiche (1985).

June 8, 1985: Brushwood Stable's Creme Fraiche became the first gelding to win the Belmont Stakes.

June 8, 1991: Julie Krone became the first female rider to compete in the Belmont Stakes. Her mount, Subordinated Debt, finished ninth as the third longest shot in the field. Also on that date, Mane Minister became the only horse to finish third in all three Triple Crown events.

June 8, 2002: For the 24th straight year there will be no Triple Crown winner. Kentucky Derby and Preakness Stakes victor War Emblem ran a disappointing Belmont Stakes as Sarava upset to win the final leg of the Triple Crown. War Emblem, the 6-5 favorite, almost fell as the starting gate opened for the 1 1/2-mile race. Sarava became the biggest longshot to ever win the Belmont Stakes, returning a record $142.50 for a $2 bet. The previous record was $132.10 by Sherluck in 1931.

June 8, 2013: Palace Malice, one of five in the race from trainer Todd Pletcher's barn, pulled away down the stretch and went on to win 145th Belmont Stakes.

June 9, 1888: James McLaughlin set the record for most number of wins by a jockey in the Belmont Stakes, six, when he rode Sir Dixon to a 12-length victory. McLaughlin's record was matched by Eddie Arcaro in 1955.

June 9, 1887: Only two horses competed in the Belmont Stakes. It was the smallest field in the race's history, which again had only two starters in 1888, 1892, 1910, and 1920, the year Man o'War won the Belmont by 20-lengths.

June 9, 1973: Secretariat won the Belmont Stakes by 31-lengths - the largest winning margin in the race's history, while setting a track record of 2:24, which has not been surpassed. The time was 2 3/5 seconds faster than the mark set by Gallant Man in 1957. Secretariat's victory made him the ninth Triple Crown winner and first since Citation had swept the Derby, Preakness and Belmont in 1948.

June 9,1979: Spectacular Bid lost his chance for the Triple Crown in the Belmont Stakes, finishing third to winner Coastal. Trainer Bud Delp alleged that the colt had sustained a foot injury after stepping on a safety pin the morning of the race.

June 9, 1984: Riding Swale in a wire-to-wire victory, Laffit Pincay Jr. won his third consecutive Belmont Stakes, becoming the only rider in this century to accomplish that feat. Pincay rode Caveat to victory in 1983 and Conquistador Cielo in 1982; all three of his mounts were trained by Woody Stephens. Jockey James McLaughlin also rode three consecutive Belmont winners, once from 1882-84, and again from 1886-88.

June 9, 2012: Co-favorite Union Rags found room along the rail to get past pacesetter Paynter and win the 144th Belmont Stakes at Belmont Park. The colt, ridden by John Velazquez, covered the 1 1/2 miles in 2:30.42 on a fast track.

Much of the luster of the race was lost due to the unfortunate scratch on Friday of Kentucky Derby and Preakness Stakes winner I'll Have Another with a left leg injury. Union Rags and Dullahan took over the favorite's spot with both going off at 5-2 in the 11 horse field.

June 10, 1978: Steve Cauthen, at age 18, became the youngest jockey ever to win the Triple Crown when his mount, Affirmed, won the Belmont Stakes. Also on that day, Alydar became the only horse to finish second in all three Triple Crown races.

June 11, 1921: Grey Lag, under Earl Sande, won the first Belmont Stakes ever to be run counter-clockwise. Previous Belmonts had been run clockwise over a fish-hook course that included part of the training track and the main dirt oval.

June 11, 1955: Jockey Eddie Arcaro tied James McLaughlin's record of six Belmont Stakes wins when he rode Nashua to victory.

June 11, 1973: Triple Crown winner Secretariat simultaneously made the covers of Time, Newsweek and Sports Illustrated.

June 11, 1977: Upon winning the Belmont Stakes, Seattle Slew became the 10th Triple Crown winner and the first Triple Crown winner to remain undefeated, with a career record of nine-for-nine.

June 12, 1920: Man o'War won the Belmont Stakes, which was then run at a distance of 1 3/8-miles, in 2:14 1/5. He shattered the existing world record by 3 1/5 seconds and also set the American dirt-course record for that distance.

June 12, 1926: The August Belmont family first presented their permanent commemorative Tiffany trophy to the winner of the Belmont Stakes. The silver trophy was created in 1869 in recognition of Fenian's win in the Belmont.

June 12, 1948: After riding Citation to victory in the Belmont, jockey Eddie Arcaro became the only rider in history to have won two Triple Crowns. His previous Triple Crown was with Whirlaway, in 1941.

June 13, 1874: English-bred Saxon became the first foreign bred horse to win the Belmont Stakes.

June 13, 1913: James Rowe, who had won back-to-back Belmonts in 1872-73, as a jockey, set the record for most Belmont Stakes wins by a trainer, eight, when he sent Prince Eugene to victory.

June 14, 1880: The first post parade of horses in any American race took place prior to the running of the Belmont Stakes. Horses had previously gone directly from paddock to post.

June 19, 1867: The inaugural Belmont Stakes was run at Jerome Park in the Bronx and was won by a filly, Ruthless, who defeated colts to earn $1,850 for her victory. Ruthless was one of a group of fillies known as the "Barbarous Battalion," daughters of the mare Barbarity, owned by Francis Morris of New York. The other "battalion" members - all full sisters - were Remorseless, Relentless, Regardless and Merciless.

<< Back To Newsletter

Redeeming a gift certificate or promotional certificate? We'll ask for your claim code when it's time to pay.